mass2The Apostolic Episcopal Church is governed by Metropolitan Synod under the Primate (Presiding Bishop). Metropolitan Synod is recognized by the Statutes of the State of New York, Chapter 597 Laws of 1932, Article 3A, sections 50 to 59c. Membership of Metropolitan Synod is indicated thus * in the clergy list below. Bishops in the Apostolic Episcopal Church may, according to the ancient Eastern practice of our origins, use the Orthodox designation of Mar.

In practice, because the Apostolic Episcopal Church enjoys a number of agreements of intercommunion with other churches, there is a frequent interchange of clergy with those churches in respect of mission and particular projects, and clergy serving in jurisdictions with which the AEC is in intercommunion continue to be regarded as part of the family of the AEC for the purposes of statistical reporting, as is the usual practice in such matters.

By contrast, while the list of clergy below includes several who also serve bivocationally in other communions, it is confined to those who hold their primary permanent offices and responsibilities in the Apostolic Episcopal Church. The length of service of each bishop in our communion is indicated by their year of consecration as given below.

No member of clergy receives a stipend from the Apostolic Episcopal Church. Each meets not only his own expenses but also those of the central church, so far as he may be able. However, there is no obligatory financial contribution whatsoever. It follows that our clergy are not only to be found in a conventional parish setting, but may also express their religious vocations through following a suitable profession, as has always been acceptable to Anglicans in the past; included in this number are several teachers (including four of our Primates) and professional counselors.

>>Information about ordination and incardination in the Apostolic Episcopal Church

Succession of the Primates in the Apostolic Episcopal Church:

I. Mar John Emmanuel (The Most Revd. Arthur Wolfort Brooks)
19 November 1930 – 7 July 1948

II. Mar David I (The Most Revd. Wallace David de Ortega Maxey)
7 July 1948 – 7 November 1986*

III. Mar Alexander (The Most Revd. Nils Bertil Persson)
7 November 1986 – 28 February 1998

IV. Mar Timotheos III (The Most Revd. Francis Cajetan Spataro)
28 February 1998 – 5 February 2015

V. Mar Joannes Edmundus (The Most Revd. John Kersey)
5 February 2015 –

*From 8 August 1976 until 7 November 1986 Mar David II (The Most Revd. Robert R. Ramm) served as Primate of the Apostolic Episcopal Catholic Church in collaboration with Mar David I.

Current clergy list:

Primate (Presiding Bishop) and Ecclesiastical Administrator of Metropolitan Synod
The Most Revd. John Kersey (Mar Joannes Edmundus) OCR, OA, STD, DD, DChr*
consecrated bishop in 2006; Primate 2015-
Titular Archbishop of Sardis; Catholicos of the West and British Patriarch

Emeritus Primate
The Most Revd. Francis Cajetan Spataro (Mar Timotheos III), OCR, OA, STD, DD*
consecrated bishop in 1992; Primate 1998-2015

The United States of America:
The Province of the East
The Most Revd. Paul Lorentzen, OCR, STD*
consecrated bishop in 2014
Deputy to the Primate
The Very Revd Michael Reed, OCR (Vicar for Ohio)
The Very Revd. Canon Cyril Kent, OCR (retired Canon, St John’s Episcopal American Catholic Church)

The Province of the West and the Central Province
The Most Revd. Anthony Scuderi, OCR, OA, FSSF, DD, PsyD, DMin*
Patriarch of Malaga in the Catholicate of the West
consecrated bishop in 2011

The West Indies:
Missionary Archbishop of the Antilles (with see at Barbados)
The Most Revd. Paget Elkanah James Mack, OCR, OA, DD*
consecrated bishop in 1997

Latin America:
Archbishop of the Philippines
The Most Revd. Edmondo Molina Jickain (Mar Levi bar Thoma)*
consecrated bishop in 1994

St Alban’s Church, Buenos Aires, Argentina
The Revd. Deacon M.R. Salguero, M.Sac.Th.

Memory Eternal!
Please see this page devoted to our deceased clergy.

Lay Officers

Great Britain:
(Under the Primate)
Chancellor and Secretary of Metropolitan Synod
Dom A. Michael D.G. Walsh, OSB(SL), DLitt, ThD*

Continental Europe:
(Under the Primate)
Canon Professor Luca Scotto di Tella de’ Douglas di Castel di Ripa, DLitt, PhD
Honorary Canon
Canon Carlo Liviero Morini dei Morin

Latin America:
St Alban’s Church, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Lay Reader
Mr Edward Alexander Kesting